Kingdom Graduation

“And I appoint unto you a kingdom as my father hath appointed unto me.”  Luke 22:29

God gave His son Jesus a kingdom, and He in turn has given that kingdom to us His disciples.  The only modern picture we have of this act of Jesus is that of universities “conferring” degrees on those who have completed the degree requirements.  Jesus has conferred His kingdom upon His followers.  Note that Jesus said the process of conferring to us was the same as His Father appointing the Kingdom to Him.  We know what that looked like, because Daniel witnessed the event.  He wrote,

I saw in the night visions, and, behold, one like the Son of man came with the clouds of heaven, and came to the Ancient of days, and they brought him near before him.  And there was given him dominion, and glory, and a kingdom, that all people, nations, and languages, should serve him: his dominion is an everlasting dominion, which shall not pass away, and his kingdom that which shall not be destroyed.  Daniel 7:13-14

So step forward, you saint of God.  In the same manner, Jesus has appointed to you His Kingdom.  What inexpressible glory!  It is a dispensation of infinite mercy and undeserved grace.  I never really understood the gift of a Kingdom until a conversation I had with Colonel Ray, a marine whose training burned into his identity a clear understanding of Kingdom living.  He told me years ago that a Kingdom must have three things—a King, subjects, and laws.  When Jesus confers upon us His Kingdom, we become completely subject to Him and His laws.  Salvation has a governmental component.  Jesus does not save those whom He does not govern.  James made that clear when he reminds us that even the devils believe and tremble.  I am subject to the Kingdom of our Lord, and as Daniel observed, it is an everlasting Kingdom that shall not be destroyed.

The Apostle Paul writes that the Kingdom is righteous, peace, and joy in the Holy Spirit.  [Romans 14:17]  No wonder it is central to the prayer Jesus taught us to pray, “Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

He would not ask us to pray a prayer that cannot be answered.  The Kingdom, which He has conferred upon those who submit to His governing authority, can be lived out and experienced here and now.  Righteousness—the liberty that comes when we are truly set free by Christ to live a holy life; peace, stop your striving and take His yoke upon you and learn of Him; and joy—indescribable joy that can only be found in the Presence of the King.

Take heart, my fellow subjects.  His Kingdom is eternal, and it is appointed to us.

About thegriefexperience

I have recently published a book for grieving people called Comfort and Joy available at my website, thegriefexperience.com. I received my Doctor of Education degree from the University of Louisville, and also hold a Master of Science degree and a Physician Assistant degree. I lived as a short term missionary in Swaziland, South Africa, prior to my life as a grief coach and author. My story is about the fact that I am an expert in grief, learning through the goodness of God to navigate a life of sudden turns and repeated trauma that brought grief and loss. I have learned about grief as an unwilling student in a life shaken by sudden death, suicide, and devastating illness. I have been widowed three times, and have raised five children in the midst of earthquake life changes. I have counseled, written and taught classes on The Grief Experience because it is what I have learned well. No amount of education or theory prepares you for multiple experiences of death and loss. But I have found healing in Jesus Christ who is the only One who has conquered death. What He has done for me, He will do for you. Visit my blog at TheGriefExperience.Wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

