I See, God Is Good

And God said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee.  Exodus 33:19.

So, where is the goodness of God, you tired and despondent soul?  It is right in front of your face!  God personalized this promise for me this morning—I’m sure I was not able to catch most of His revelation; but His goodness passed before my very eyes, and the rest of life is like the tiny periwinkles buried and safe when a giant wave washes over white sand and rests in full tropical sun.

I am washed over with the goodness of God that He passes before me to observe, to experience, and to taste.  Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!  Psalm 34:8.  Those words have hung on my wall for many months.  Today they hang in my heart.  Let me tell you what I saw, and experienced, and tasted as God passed His goodness before me this morning.

God is good because He has no unanswered questions.  David wrote, “Great is our Lord, and of great power:  His understanding is infinite.  (Psalm 147:5)  I always loved to sing with my tiny children, “He’s got the whole world…in His hands…”  because you can make up an infinite number of verses to sing.  What does God have in His hands, I would ask, and whatever they said, that was the next verse!  He has puppies and toys and dirt and grandma, all in His hands at the same time, and I was always surprised at what my children pointed out in song in the hands of God!  God knew me in my mother’s womb, and in His infinite understanding, He has guided my life from generation to generation.  How could I worry about my children when God’s understanding of them is infinite?  Whatever concerns me, absolutely everything that concerns me, my good and powerful God walks with me through it, and His understanding of what is really going on means I have nothing to worry or fear.  All is well.  ALL is well.

Next God showed me how His goodness has led me to repentance (Romans 2:4).  Because God is good, I can pray the prayer as often as needed, “I’m sorry I really messed up.”  I would love to be right, and smarter, and better; but I need to leave those things to God, because I experience His great goodness in forgiveness.  When I need to repent, I feel restless and confused.  Something isn’t quite right, and sin has blinded me somewhere.  I have to find that thing.  I have to bring it to God.  I can’t bear the weight of wrong on my own shoulders.  God has forgiven me, and that awful guilt that makes me wander is gone.  Forgetting those things which are behind, I press towards the goodness of my God who receives me and loves me through failure.

Next God showed me how His goodness has given me a sense of belonging.  Sometimes I am a little envious of happy couples growing old together.  God sets the solitary in families, and I have been thoroughly placed where I cannot feel alone.  Thank God for grandchildren who invade my house and march inconveniently into my schedule.  Thank God for a small group who overlooks my high maintenance and genuinely cares about what I care about.  I am grateful that I belong to God, like a sheep lying down in green grass, bathed in the goodness and mercy of God that follows me all the days of my life, especially today—the day I really need to know God is good.

Just as God displayed His goodness right to Moses’ face, He desires to show you today just how good He is.  Will you taste and see?  Will you let go of your restless pride, and your awful loneliness and join God’s family at the banqueting table of God’s goodness?  I see Him!  He is soooo  good!!

About thegriefexperience

I have recently published a book for grieving people called Comfort and Joy available at my website, thegriefexperience.com. I received my Doctor of Education degree from the University of Louisville, and also hold a Master of Science degree and a Physician Assistant degree. I lived as a short term missionary in Swaziland, South Africa, prior to my life as a grief coach and author. My story is about the fact that I am an expert in grief, learning through the goodness of God to navigate a life of sudden turns and repeated trauma that brought grief and loss. I have learned about grief as an unwilling student in a life shaken by sudden death, suicide, and devastating illness. I have been widowed three times, and have raised five children in the midst of earthquake life changes. I have counseled, written and taught classes on The Grief Experience because it is what I have learned well. No amount of education or theory prepares you for multiple experiences of death and loss. But I have found healing in Jesus Christ who is the only One who has conquered death. What He has done for me, He will do for you. Visit my blog at TheGriefExperience.Wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

