Timothy’s Prayer for Kings

I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour.  I Timothy 2:1-3

Today, I will pray as You have exhorted us to pray in I Timothy.  You resist the proud, but give grace to the humble.  Help me to pray for my nation with a humble spirit.  Lord, I know that you ordained civil government to restrain evil and for the good of Your people.  Though our president and many members of Congress and the courts are enemies of Christ, and have brought economic persecution upon some, I pray for their good, which will come through knowledge and understanding of truth and peace.  I pray for their welfare, for their families, and for their prosperity.  As you promised the captives of Babylon, “And seek the peace of the city whither I have caused you to be carried away captives, and pray unto the Lord for it: for in the peace thereof ye shall have peace” (Jeremiah 29:7).

Forgive me for my lack of prayer for our magistrates, simply because I vehemently disagree with them.  I pray for Mayor Fisher today, and for the peace of Louisville.  I pray that you would prosper him, and bless him.  Give him direction and favor to lead our city to protect and provide for its citizens.  I give You thanks for a city in which I can conduct business and care for my family, and for those who care for Louisville and make it possible for me to lead a quiet and peaceful life.

Lord, I confess to you that my prayers for America’s government have often been “praying amiss, that I might consume it upon my own lusts” (James 4:3).  I understand, God, that my prayers for government have often been motivated by my personal gain, and this is not acceptable to you.  I have prayed for Christian preference, and honor and power to be given to those who honor and prefer You.  You have allowed those to rise to positions of authority in government for both the good and the judgment of Your people.  We receive Your discipline, and Your exhortation; may the hearts of our leaders, and those soon to be elected, be bent toward Your perfect will for our nation.  I ask that Christians be able to lead a quiet and peaceful life, not grasping for recognition as the “ones who are right,” or the “ones who are truly good.”  There are none righteous in your sight.  I pray only that Your glory and Your great compassion and goodness, upon the just and upon the unjust, be manifestly visible in this election.

Let me fulfill my duty of godliness, in giving my devotion wholly to You; and my duty of honesty, in conducting my business for the good of all men.  I desire only to do what is good and acceptable in Your sight.

I repent for my lack of prayer for our nation.  I see the difficulties and snares that fame and power have brought to those who would seek our highest office in America, and I mourn for those who have been publicly humiliated for their failures.  May they know the compassion of a forgiving God today.  May we never revel in the downfall of one for whom You died.  Help us to keep our tongues from evil and our lips from speaking guile (Psalm 34) as we approach the very sober and holy day of November 8th.  And I ask that You, my Lord, in Your great mercy, would give us leaders who fear God, not that we might receive exclusive honor and favor, but that You, God would be known for Your greatness in all the earth.

 

 

About thegriefexperience

I have recently published a book for grieving people called Comfort and Joy available at my website, thegriefexperience.com. I received my Doctor of Education degree from the University of Louisville, and also hold a Master of Science degree and a Physician Assistant degree. I lived as a short term missionary in Swaziland, South Africa, prior to my life as a grief coach and author. My story is about the fact that I am an expert in grief, learning through the goodness of God to navigate a life of sudden turns and repeated trauma that brought grief and loss. I have learned about grief as an unwilling student in a life shaken by sudden death, suicide, and devastating illness. I have been widowed three times, and have raised five children in the midst of earthquake life changes. I have counseled, written and taught classes on The Grief Experience because it is what I have learned well. No amount of education or theory prepares you for multiple experiences of death and loss. But I have found healing in Jesus Christ who is the only One who has conquered death. What He has done for me, He will do for you. Visit my blog at TheGriefExperience.Wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

