God Delivers Nations

And when he [Moses] was full forty years old, it came into his heart to visit his brethren the children of Israel.  And seeing one of them suffer wrong, he defended him, and avenged him that was oppressed, and smote the Egyptian: For he supposed his brethren would have understood how that God by his hand would deliver them: but they understood not.  And the next day he shewed himself unto them as they strove, and would have set them at one again, saying, Sirs, ye are brethren; why do ye wrong one to another? But he that did his neighbour wrong thrust him away, saying, Who made thee a ruler and a judge over us?  Wilt thou kill me, as thou diddest the Egyptian yesterday?  Then fled Moses at this saying, and was a stranger in the land of Midian, where he begat two sons….

This Moses whom they refused, saying, Who made thee a ruler and a judge? the same did God send to be a ruler and a deliverer by the hand of the angel which appeared to him in the bush.  He brought them out, after that he had shewed wonders and signs in the land of Egypt, and in the Red sea, and in the wilderness forty years.  Acts 7:23-29, 35-36

I have been praying for America this morning.  I have prayed for the president, the supreme Court, and members of congress who call on the name of the Lord.  I prayed for Kentucky’s governor, his advisors, and for my representatives.  The Kentucky assembly has many who are under the authority of the laws of nature and of nature’s God.  We live in a state that has been highly favored by God.

Then I went to Acts 7, the final sermon of Stephen.  The scripture declares that people could not resist the spirit and wisdom by which he spoke (Acts 6:10).  Really?  His sermon is a (yawn) history narrative.  I know all the details of Abraham, Joseph and Moses.  But today, the words were alive and powerful, and cut my heart as deeply as those who stood before Stephen and rejected the word of the Lord.

Moses’ heart was moved when he was 40 years old to see the world as it really was.  He had been in the “ivory tower” of education and ease in the palace of Pharaoh, a place quite sheltered from slavery and injustice.  I was 46 when I finished my college education, having spent 14 years collecting an array of learning and degrees.  Then God led me to First Principles and confronted me with my total ignorance of history and the world around me, a world He loves, where injustice, slavery, and suffering abound.  It is very complicated when God calls and says “I have seen the suffering.  Now YOU go.”

Moses responded with anger and revenge, then he ran away for 40 years.  I’d say that’s a pretty typical Christian response to injustice.  Anger is good when it does not lead to sin.  Put away your reckless anger, and ask God to give you righteous passion to overcome injustice.  The God of the universe who turns the hearts of kings will answer your prayer.  Stephen was irresistible in wisdom and the power of the Spirit.  All of Moses’ years of education left him stupid.  I won’t elaborate on the application to my life.

And he that overcometh, and keepeth my works unto the end, to him will I give power over the nations.  Revelation 2:26

EVERY Christian is called to overcome, to do God’s will, and to act in wisdom and power, and God will give nations to those who are faithful, courageous, and persevere to the end.  Joseph did it, and became the Prince of Egypt.  Stephen did it, and became a martyr.  Both experienced power over nations.

So one would think Moses was a total wash.  He ran away to Midian and started living the “normal” life.  He got married and had two sons, and kept livestock and enjoyed the fruit of his labor, pretending that’s all there is to life.  For 40 years, he lived like his calling didn’t matter.  His education didn’t matter.  The world’s injustice was not his problem.  He was in a very comfortable place.  He even got along with his in-laws!

When Moses was 80 years old, God came to him in a burning bush.  It’s interesting that God didn’t have to explain much to Moses what He wanted.  Moses knew 40 years ago that he was Israel’s deliverer.  He couldn’t do it in his own strength, so he didn’t do it at all.

This blog will reach hundreds of Christians who have run to their own Midian.  America is in crisis.  God wants to heal the nations.  He has seen the suffering, He has made the call, and every man, woman and child who names Jesus as Lord must respond to restoring the vineyard that is overgrown with thorns and weeds.  Return to the front lines of battle.  This is our time.

Few of you 80 year olds have cared for your body, which is not your own.  Abandon a lifetime of gluttony and get off the grains and sugar and processed foods.  We have work to do.  Put away your anger, your fear, and your despair.  God reigns.  Move in the wisdom and power of the Holy Spirit.  Every moment.  “Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober.” I Thessalonians 5:6  “So prepare your minds for action, be completely sober [in spirit—steadfast, self-disciplined, spiritually and morally alert], fix your hope completely on the grace [of God] that is coming to you when Jesus Christ is revealed.”  I Peter 1:13 AMP)

God in His mercy is reminding me of my calling before I’m 80.  I get to have a head start!  What a great time in history to be a Daughter of the King!

About thegriefexperience

I have recently published a book for grieving people called Comfort and Joy available at my website, thegriefexperience.com. I received my Doctor of Education degree from the University of Louisville, and also hold a Master of Science degree and a Physician Assistant degree. I lived as a short term missionary in Swaziland, South Africa, prior to my life as a grief coach and author. My story is about the fact that I am an expert in grief, learning through the goodness of God to navigate a life of sudden turns and repeated trauma that brought grief and loss. I have learned about grief as an unwilling student in a life shaken by sudden death, suicide, and devastating illness. I have been widowed three times, and have raised five children in the midst of earthquake life changes. I have counseled, written and taught classes on The Grief Experience because it is what I have learned well. No amount of education or theory prepares you for multiple experiences of death and loss. But I have found healing in Jesus Christ who is the only One who has conquered death. What He has done for me, He will do for you. Visit my blog at TheGriefExperience.Wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment